My Plot-Twist Genre List

As a drama enthusiast for over a decade, it’s pretty safe to say that I have sit through almost all kind of plot-twist the dramaland has to offer. The secret-births, sudden deaths, white truck of doom, fake deaths and all sorts of terminal diseases. But the world of dramas that is ever changing, plot twists these days are burdened to be as shocking as possible. And while a decade of twists and revelation might’ve wearied this brain to minimum use of logic, nothing triggers a millennial heart like an unexpected plot twist. So, I present you eight types of plot twists that has stuck in my memory.

moonlovers20-00564

The Cliff-Hanger Plot Twist

Convince me that Moon Lovers ending didn’t leave you hanging for few shattered weeks and I will believe you my friend are a meta-human who has evolved through the time spent in front of the screen. And to think that this might actually become a trend just makes me fear for my happy-ending wishing heart. 

okaylove01-00433

The “I saw that coming” Plot Twist

Have you ever been in a situation when you get to a certain point in your drama where you know exactly what will happen but you wait until it is revealed? And then the revelation aligns to your instincts, but you were never 100% sure about your instincts. So now you are in a state of mind when you saw the plot twist coming, yet you cannot take the credit of guessing the plot twist because you were never sure of it. Is anyone even following?

That was what my mind was going through the whole time I watched It’s Okay, It’s Love till they revealed the reality behind Do Kyung Soo’s character. I knew something was fishy from the first scene with Jae Yeol and Gang-Woo together, but then I let it slide out of my head. And as Gang-Woo’s identity got revealed, I couldn’t even say “I saw that one coming” because now even I am confused if I had really seen that one coming!

bad1-00114

The Despicable Twist

Remember Kim Nam Gil’s Bad Guy and its ending? If you went down that bitter memory lane than I wouldn’t require much explanation. But if you haven’t watched the show, this is the type of plot-twist that appears a little too late in your drama when the actor suddenly needs to leave the show and the writer creates some absurd twist that jumbles up the entire script. The result: you might just start ripping your hair off.

the-last-empress-korean-drama-2018-teaser-hd_10372070-2630_1280x720

The Makjang Twist

Now here’s another category that takes absurdity to a whole new level. I’m talking about outrageous twists and so illogical that even your brain starts questioning your IQ for watching the show. But the makjang’s are so intriguing that you’re hooked like a fish on a line. Recently, every episode of Last Empress has me question my intelligence and laud the tolerance I put up with all the plot twists. But do I give up? NEVER

08fa3831a71bc7399c4162333e23fe5c

The Annoying Twist

Oh Answer Me series. What sins had we viewers committed to deserve such plot twist? The moment husband is revealed, I am sure whoever the guy ends up to be, half of the viewers were devastated. And that twist gets in your nerves, even after years of finishing the drama. No offense to Team Taek, but it was Jung Hwan for me from day one and the ending still annoys me like nothing else. 

king_photo120518111003imbcdrama1

The Devastating Twist

A successor to the annoying twist, here’s another type that doesn’t only gets in your nerve, but completely breaks your heart. This type usually follows with a character’s death around the end of the series and unlike no Makjang twist, you know the character will never come back again. If I could, I would ask the writer why would they kill the one character I was rooting throughout King 2hearts? My heart might never recover over you Eun Shi Kyung.

iyagi20-026

The Bittersweet Twist

In 2009 there was this show called A Man’s Story. Not many might’ve watched it but this is hands down one of the best drama I have ever watched. To avoid any spoilers for those who are yet to watch it, the ending plot twist will be hard to process,. But I acknowledged it for it was bound to happen, so the story could wrap up as elegantly as it had commenced. The kind of plot twist that you might not always like, but makes sense from every aspect.

efedd4ee319f47fa9a21f8e91cd81623.jpeg

The Twist Worth Applauding

The first episode of Special Affairs Team Ten Season 1 has some of the best plot twists I have ever seen. So much that I had to watch the episode twice to figure out what was happening and even then I waited for dramabeans to do a recap on this masterpiece of work. The show had done a great work in confusing the hell out of my brain. My standard of plot twist was probably set after the show because with all honestly, I am yet to be blown away like that after that drama.

Leave a comment